Our firm understands that those facing a commercial vehicle DUI in Georgia have a lot at stake. Do not hesitate to reach out to our firm today if you are facing the consequences of this charge. A dedicated Cobb County DUI lawyer is here to help.
How does Georgia define commercial vehicles?
A commercial vehicle is defined as, “a motor vehicle designed or used to transport passengers or property.” Commercial vehicles can be:
- Vehicles that have “a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 or more pounds or such lesser rating as determined by federal regulation.”
- Vehicles that are “designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver.”
- Vehicles that transport “hazardous materials”
In Georgia, commercial vehicle drivers are held to a higher standard than regular drivers. A regular driver will be charged with a DUI with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or more, meanwhile, a commercial driver will be charged with a DUI with a blood alcohol concentration of .04 percent or more. As you can see, the stakes are much higher for commercial drivers.
What are the consequences of a commercial vehicle DUI in Georgia?
Georgia takes DUI charges very seriously. A driver facing the consequences of this charge will encounter a license suspension and more. In most cases, the first DUI is typically a misdemeanor charge. A first DUI conviction can result in:
- Fines between $300-$1000.
- A person convicted of DUI could face a minimum of 24 hours to 12 months in prison. A common punishment is between 1-10 days in jail.
- A total of 40 hours of community service could be needed. If the offender was under the age of 21 and had a BAC under .08 then he or she could be required to complete 20 hours of community service.
- Participation in, and completion of, a DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program that must be completed within 120 days after a conviction or 90 days after getting out of jail.
- A clinical evaluation and treatment, if advised.
- Probation that lasts up to 12 months.
It is important to recognize that the consequences of DUI charges in Georgia will increase as convictions accumulate. A second DUI conviction is still considered a misdemeanor but the penalties are more severe. A third conviction is a high or aggravated misdemeanor and a fourth DUI conviction is a felony. If you were charged with a commercial vehicle DUI in Georgia, do not wait to reach out to our firm today. Our legal team understands that your future is on the line. A Cobb County criminal defense lawyer can help you.
Contact Our Experienced Firm
At the Miller Law Practice, we support clients through a variety of legal matters. If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.