If you were charged with reckless driving in Georgia, you will need to retain the services of our skilled Cobb County traffic violation lawyer. Our legal team is on your side no matter what you are facing. Give us a call today to get started. We are here to ensure your future and rights are protected.
What is reckless driving in Georgia?
The state of Georgia takes reckless driving very seriously. This type of charge is defined as when an individual drives a vehicle in a reckless disregard for the safety of property or persons. Some examples of reckless driving include, and are not limited to, the following:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Failure to yield
- Passing over a double yellow line
- Weaving through traffic
- Excessive speeding
- Running red lights
- Running stop signs
- Racing other vehicles
- Driving a vehicle known to have mechanical or technical defects
What are the penalties for reckless driving in Georgia?
In Georgia, reckless driving is regarded as a misdemeanor charge. Penalties for this misdemeanor charge include 4 points being added to the driver’s license, up to $1,000 in fines, and up to one year in jail. Other penalties will likely include the completion of a drug and alcohol valuation as well as community service and any other conditions the judge may set. If a driver is sentenced to a reckless driving charge and they are under the age of 21, their license will be automatically suspended.
In the event that there are other charges involved, penalties will expand. For example, if a driver tries to escape from a police officer, the fines and jail time will increase. If reckless driving causes serious injury or homicide by vehicle, this will result in a felony charge with an automatic prison sentence.
How does Georgia’s point system work?
You will want to keep in mind that with each driving conviction, The Georgia Point System accesses points ranging from 2 to 6 points. Drivers under 21 years old will have their driver’s license suspended for committing any violation worth 4 points. Drivers over the age of 21 will have their driving privileges suspended if they receive 15 points within a 24-month time span.
It is in your best interest to contact our experienced criminal defense attorney if you are facing the consequences of a reckless driving charge. Our legal team will walk you through each step of the legal process. Reach out today to get started on your case. We are just one call away.
Contact Our Experienced Firm
At the Miller Law Practice, we support clients through a variety of legal matters. If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.