If you were charged with a DUI in Georgia, you may want to consider your legal options and possible defenses that can be used to protect your future. Reach out to our firm today to speak with an experienced Cobb County DUI lawyer.
What defenses can be used against a DUI charge in Georgia?
It is no surprise that the penalties of any DUI-related charges in Georgia are severe. However, it is important to keep in mind that a skilled criminal defense lawyer can work to make sure that you never face these consequences, or, at least, that the impact of these consequences is mitigated. Some of the most typical defenses against DUI charges that our firm may utilize (depending on the circumstances of your case) includes the following:
- There was no probable cause for an arrest
- The breathalyzer used during your arrest provided inaccurate results
- The arresting officer had no reasonable suspicion to conduct an investigation
- The blood or breath sample was improperly obtained or assessed
- The arresting officer improperly administered your field sobriety tests
- Your constitutional rights were violated
What are the penalties for a first offense DUI in Georgia?
You can expect to face severe consequences even if it is just your first DUI offense. If you are convicted of a first-offense DUI in Georgia, you will likely encounter the following sentences:
- Between 10 days and 1 year in jail
- A 12-month license suspension, though you may have your license reinstated after 120 days upon completion of the DUI Alcohol or
- Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
- A potential $300-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
- Up to 40 hours of community service
- You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment
As you can see, a first offense DUI can have serious consequences. It is important that you keep in mind that you will only have 30 days from the date of your arrest to speak with a skilled Georgia DUI lawyer who can schedule an Administrative License Hearing. This is where he or she can work to protect your license from suspension. Failing to do so within 30 days will result in an immediate license suspension.
What can happen after a second-offense DUI?
If you are facing a second offense DUI within five years, you can expect even harsher penalties. The consequences of a second-offense DUI charge in Georgia include the following:
- Between 90 days and 1 year in jail
- A 3-year license suspension
- A potential $600-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
- Up to 240 hours of community service
- Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
- You may be required to undergo a clinical evaluation and treatment
Contact Our Experienced Firm
At the Miller Law Practice, we support clients through a variety of legal matters. If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.