If you were charged with a DUI in Georgia, you will likely have to install an ignition interlock device on your car. Continue reading and give our firm a call today to learn more about how our skilled Cobb County DUI lawyer can help you.
What is an ignition interlock device?
An ignition interlock device attaches to the ignition system of a vehicle and will demand the driver to submit to a breathalyzer test to start their vehicle. The device will have a set BAC limit. If the device catches a BAC above this set limit, the vehicle will not start. The device will also need the driver to supply additional breath tests while the vehicle is in motion. The goal of these additional tests is to avoid the driver using another person to start their vehicle. If the driver does not supply further breath tests while the vehicle is in motion, the device will administer a warning and set off an alarm until the driver stops the vehicle. The device will also record the instance of this incident. These devices will be required to be installed in every vehicle the individual owns or operates. If the individual does not own a vehicle, the device will be installed on any vehicles that they may use.
Am I qualified to obtain an ignition interlock device permit in Georgia?
In order for Georiga drivers to be qualified to obtain an ignition interlock device permit, they must satisfy the following criteria:
- Drivers must be 21 years or older
- Drivers must not have any current license suspensions
- Drivers must not have been convicted of a DUI within the last 5 years
- Drivers must have a valid Georgia driver’s license
To learn more about this permit, do not wait to give our firm a call today to discuss this further. Our legal team is on your side no matter what you are facing.
What are some ways that I can obtain an IID permit?
Before the Department of Driver Services can administer an ignition interlock permit, you will have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicles, submit your DDS-1205 to the Department of Driver Services, apply in person at a DDS office within 30 days, and waive your right to appeal a hearing.
If you have been recently charged with a DUI in Georgia, it is important that you hire the services of a skilled and competent criminal defense attorney. Do not wait to give our firm a call today to schedule your initial meeting with one of our dedicated legal team members.
Contact Our Experienced Firm
If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.