What to Know About Ignition Interlock Devices in Georgia

With summer around the corner, many people are meeting up with friends and family for drinks at bars and restaurants. Unfortunately, some of these individuals will make the decision to drive home afterward. Driving under the influence is a serious offense in Georgia. Getting behind the wheel while intoxicated endangers the driver, his or her passengers, all other drivers on the road, and pedestrians. As a result, DUI charges carry heavy consequences. One of these consequences may be that of an ignition interlock device. Read on to learn more.

First-Offense DUI Penalties

If you are charged with a DUI for the first time, you may face the following charges:

  • A 12-month license suspension, though you may have your license reinstated after 120 days upon completion of the DUI
  • Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • Between 10 days and 1 year in jail
  • A potential $300-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 40 hours of community service
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

Second-Offense DUI Penalties

It is important to understand that your penalties are dependent upon your prior charges. This means that with each DUI charge you receive, your penalties will increase. If you are charged with a DUI for the second time within five years, you may face:

  • A 3-year license suspension
  • Between 90 days and 1 year in jail
  • A potential $600-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 240 hours of community service
  • Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

If you are charged with a DUI for a second time, you may also be required to install an ignition interlock device.

What is an Ignition Interlock Device?

An ignition interlock device is a machine that will be installed into a car. It will require a driver to take a breathalyzer test. If the driver does not take the test, or the driver’s Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is too high, the vehicle will not start. It is important to note that you cannot have another individual take the test for you, as you may be required to take multiple tests throughout the drive. These devices can be expensive, and it will be up to the offender to cover the cost of installation. If you are facing DUI charges, you will need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney.

Reach out to our firm to speak with a dedicated attorney. Our firm is here to advocate for you. We understand that people make mistakes and we will explore all possible avenues of defense.

Contact Our Experienced Firm

We at Miller Criminal Law understand that people make mistakes. We are here to fight for you throughout all of your criminal law matters. Do not hesitate to reach out to our firm today and speak with an experienced and dedicated attorney.