Reckless driving charges are the result of the safety of other individuals on the road being ignored by a driver. If you are facing reckless driving charges, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who will explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. Our knowledgeable legal team understands the weight that these charges may have on an individual’s future. To learn more about how we can assist you, contact our firm. Continue reading to learn how reckless driving is defined and the penalties for reckless driving in Georgia.
What is considered reckless driving?
Reckless driving in Georiga occurs when an individual drives a vehicle in a reckless disregard for the safety of property or persons. Some examples of reckless driving include the following:
- Failure to yield
- Passing over a double yellow line
- Weaving through traffic
- Excessive speeding
- Running red lights
- Running stop signs
- Racing other vehicles
- Driving a vehicle known to have mechanical or technical flaws
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
What are the penalties for reckless driving in Georgia?
In Georgia, reckless driving is considered a misdemeanor charge. Penalties for this misdemeanor charge include 4 points being added to the driver’s license, up to $1,000 in fines, and up to one year in jail. Other penalties will possibly include the completion of a drug and alcohol valuation as well as community service and any other conditions the judge may impose. If a driver is convicted of a reckless driving charge and they are under the age of 21, their license will be automatically suspended.
If there are other charges involved, penalties will increase. For example, if a driver attempts to flee from a police officer, the fines and jail time will increase. If reckless driving causes serious injury or homicide by vehicle, this will result in a felony charge with a guaranteed prison sentence.
Georgia’s Point System
For each driving conviction, The Georgia Point System accesses points ranging from 2 to 6 points. Drivers under 21 years old will have their driver’s license suspended for committing any violation worth 4 points. Drivers over the age of 21 will have their driving privileges suspended if they receive 15 points within a 24 month period.
If you are facing reckless driving charges, do not hesitate to contact our experienced criminal defense attorney today. We will walk you through the steps of the legal process ahead. Give our firm a call to learn more about our services.
Contact Our Experienced Firm
At the Miller Law Practice, we support clients through a variety of legal matters. If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.