If you were charged with a DUI in Georgia, you may be wondering about whether or not you will end up going to jail. Reach out to our firm today to speak with a skilled Cobb County DUI lawyer about the details of your case and your legal options.

Will I go to jail for a first offense DUI in Georgia?

Keep in mind that the state of Georgia treats DUI charges very seriously, even if it is your first offense. This suggests that you may face jail time for a first offense DUI. If you have been convicted of a first-offense DUI in Georgia, you can expect to encounter the following:

  • Between 10 days and 1 year in jail
  • A 12-month license suspension, though you may have your license reinstated after 120 days upon completion of the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • A potential $300-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 40 hours of community service
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

As a result, it is important to recognize that if this is your first offense, you will only have 30 days from the date of your arrest to talk with a skilled Cobb County criminal defense lawyer who will prepare an Administrative License hearing, where he or she can work to defend your license from suspension. Without doing so within 30 days, your license will be instantly suspended.

What are the consequences of a second offense DUI?

You will face stricter penalties if this is your second DUI offense within five years in the state of Georgia. Keep in mind that without retaining the services of a skilled criminal defense attorney, you can expect to encounter the following:

  • Between 90 days and 1 year in jail
  • A 3-year license suspension
  • A potential $600-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 240 hours of community service
  • Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

What are the penalties for a third offense DUI?

If you were charged for the third time, you will now be referred to as a habitual offender, and as a result of such, you will most likely face the following penalties:

  • Between 120 days and 5 years in jail
  • You will receive a 5-year license suspension
  • A potential $1,000-$5,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 240 hours of community service
  • Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

Contact Our Experienced Firm

At the Miller Law Practice, we support clients through a variety of legal matters. If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.