If you were charged with a DUI in Georgia, you may be wondering if you will lose your car or what else can happen to you and your future. Read on and give our firm a call today to speak with a skilled Cobb County DUI lawyer. We are on your side no matter what you are facing.
What is a DUI in Georgia and when does it occur?
Also known as driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving under the influence is an offense that happens when you drive or operate a vehicle if you are doing so in an impaired state or under the influence of some intoxicating substance such as alcohol.
With drivers under the age of 21, the legal limit for a BAC is less than .02. Anything above this will lead to a DUI charge. If you’re over 21, a DUI is committed if your BAC is found to be .08 or higher. Commercial drivers have a more strict limit as they are not allowed to go up to .04 or higher.
What are the consequences of a DUI arrest in Georgia?
A person charged with a DUI in Georgia will likely encounter a number of different penalties that can be life-changing. These penalties for a DUI conviction may include a jail term, fines, community service, or probation. They are as follows:
For a first DUI conviction:
- Jail time ranging from 1 day to 1 year;
- Fines ranging from $300 – $1000, plus surcharges;
- Driver’s license suspension of up to 1 year;
- 40 hours of community service;
- $210 license reinstatement fee; and
For a second DUI conviction:
- A Minimum mandatory 48 hours in jail, possible 90 days to 1 year;
- Fine of $600-$1,000;
- License suspension of 3 years;
- Minimum 30 days’ community service;
- $210 Set license reinstatement fee;
- A mandatory clinical evaluation and, if indicated, completion of a substance abuse treatment program at the offender’s expense.
For a third DUI conviction:
- Minimum mandatory 15 days jail time;
- Fine of $1,000-$5,000;
- License revocation for five years;
- Minimum mandatory 30 days of community service;
- The violator’s name, photo, and address are published in the local newspaper at the violator’s expense;
- Declared as a habitual violator, seizure of license plate by the court and forwarding to the Department of Motor Vehicle Safety;
- Mandatory clinical evaluation and, if indicated, completion of substance abuse treatment program at the offender’s expense.
No matter what offense you are facing, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today to discuss the specifics of your situation and the best legal resolution for you. We are on your side no matter what you are going through.
Contact Our Experienced Firm
If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.