4th of July DUIs in Georgia | What You Need to Know

Many people celebrate the Fourth of July with drinks. While it is perfectly fine to have a few drinks with your friends and family while watching the fireworks, driving home afterward can be incredibly dangerous. Drinking and driving endangers the driver, any passengers, pedestrians, and all other vehicles on the road. Therefore, Georgia takes DUIs very seriously. Read on to learn more about DUI charges in Georgia.

First-Offense DUI Penalties

It is important to understand that the charges you face will be dependent upon a number of factors. One of the main factors is your prior offenses. Because of this, many people assume that they will not face serious consequences for their first offense, but this is not the case. If you are charged with a first-offense DUI, you may face the following:

  • A 12-month license suspension, though you may have your license reinstated after 120 days upon completion of the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • Between 10 days and 1 year in jail
  • A potential $300-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 40 hours of community service
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

Second-Offense DUI Penalties

If you are pulled over for driving while intoxicated for a second time, your charges will increase. For this crime, you can face:

  • A 3-year license suspension
  • Between 90 days and 1 year in jail
  • A potential $600-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 240 hours of community service
  • Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

Third-Offense DUI Penalties

A third DWI can result in:

  • A 5-year license suspension
  • Between 120 days and 5 years in jail
  • A potential $1,000-$5,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 240 hours of community service
  • Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

Fourth-Offense DUI Penalties

If you are pulled over for a fourth DUI within five years, you will face life-altering consequences, including:

  • A 10-year license suspension
  • Up to 5 years in jail
  • A potential $1,000-$5,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 500 hours of community service
  • You may face the potential seizure and forfeiture of your motor vehicle

If you are facing DUI charges in Georgia, you will need the help of an experienced and dedicated criminal defense attorney. Our firm will explore all avenues of defense. Reach out today to discuss your case.

Contact Our Experienced Firm

We at the Miller Law Practice understand that people make mistakes. We are here to fight for you throughout all of your criminal law matters. Do not hesitate to contact our firm today and speak with an experienced and dedicated criminal defense attorney.