Statistically speaking, most people throughout the United States receive at least one speeding ticket in their lifetime, which is why in many cases, we do not think that we need an attorney to represent us after pleading not guilty. However, this notion is untrue, as most traffic violations in Georgia will warrant points on your license, and if you accrue more than 15 points in a 24-month period, you will most likely have your license suspended. If you are currently facing a traffic violation here in Georgia, our Cobb County traffic violation lawyer is here to help. Contact the Miller Law Practice, LLC to schedule your initial consultation today.
Do I Need to Hire a Cobb County Traffic Violation Lawyer?
Traffic violations can carry very serious penalties, and if your license is suspended as a result of a traffic violation, it can affect various facets of your life, including your ability to commute to and from work, visit friends and family, and more. Our Cobb County traffic violation lawyer will work to prevent that from happening.
Penalties for a Speeding Ticket in Georgia
Here in Georgia, there are two types of speed limits: the absolute speed limit and the basic speeding law. Essentially, if the absolute speed limit is 40 mph in any given area and you are caught driving even 41 mph, you may receive a speeding ticket. That being said, there are times where you may also receive a speeding ticket for violating Georgia’s basic speeding law. Essentially, the basic speeding law states that you may receive a speeding ticket if you are exceeding speeds that are“reasonable and prudent” given certain circumstances, such as icy roads, even if you are driving under the absolute speed limit. While most speeding violations are considered misdemeanors in Georgia, you will most likely not face jail time, however, you can face points on your license, high fines, and a potential license suspension. The potential fines for speeding tickets in Georgia are as follows:
- For driving five mph or less over the speed limit: $0
- For driving more than five, but less than ten mph over the speed limit: $25
- For driving more than ten, but less than 14 mph over the speed limit: $100
- For driving more than 14, but less than 19 mph over the speed limit: $125
- For driving more than 19, but less than 24 mph over the speed limit: $150
- For driving more than 24, but less than 34 mph over the speed limit: $500
- For speeding in a highway work zone: Up to $2,000 in fines and a potential 12-month jail sentence
- For driving at least 85 mph and exceeding the speed limit, you will face an additional $200 “super speeder” fee.
You should also note that if you are caught driving any more than 15 mph over the speed limit, you will receive anywhere between two and six points on your license, depending on how fast you were traveling at the time you were issued your ticket.
Penalties for Reckless Driving in Georgia
The phrase, “reckless driving” is a blanket term that describes a wide array of unsafe driving behavior, though reckless driving is defined, under Georgia law, as operating a motor vehicle with reckless disregard for property and other people. Some examples of reckless driving include the following:
- Driving while under the influence
- Ignoring traffic lights or signs
- Driving a vehicle known to have serious mechanical issues
If you are charged with reckless driving in Georgia, you will face a misdemeanor penalty that may entail a potential $1,000 fine and up to one year in jail. You may also receive points on your license and a license suspension. Our Cobb County traffic violation lawyer can fight these charges in an effort to minimize the impact they will have on your driving privileges and your future.
Penalties for Driving Without a License in Georgia
When someone is caught driving without a license in their possession, though they do have a valid Georgia driver’s license and can show it in court, they will only have to pay a $10 fine. That being said, if you are caught driving while your license is suspended or revoked, you will most likely face far harsher penalties. The penalties for driving with a suspended/revoked license in Georgia are as follows:
- First offense: A six-month license suspension, a potential $1,000 fine, and between two days and 12 months in jail.
- Second offense: A six-month license suspension, a potential $2,000 fine, and between 10 days and 12 months in jail.
- Third offense: A six-month license suspension, a potential $2,000 fine, and between 10 days and 12 months in jail.
- Fourth offense: This is a felony charge, for which you may face at least a six-month license suspension, though you may lose your license for life, face a potential $5,000 fine, and spend up to five years in prison.
Penalties for a Cell Phone Violation in Georgia
Georgia’s distracted driving laws are very clear–all those who operate a motor vehicle while using a telecommunication device (such as a cell phone) without hands-free capabilities (bluetooth, etc.), will face a distracted driving violation, which is a misdemeanor. The penalties for distracted driving violations in Georgia are as follows:
- First offense: One point on your license and a $50 fine.
- Second offense: Two points on your license and a $100 fine.
- Third offense: Three points on your license and a $150 fine.
That being said, if you can prove that you were using your cell phone to report an emergency, such as a traffic accident or a fire at the time that you were issued your ticket, your charges should be dropped.
Contact Our Cobb County Traffic Violation Lawyer
Whether you’ve been charged with speeding, reckless driving, distracted driving, or otherwise, you can depend on the Cobb County traffic lawyer here at the Miller Law Practice, LLC to come to your defense. Contact our firm today so we can get started.