If you were charged with a DUI in Georgia, you may be worried about your future. Luckily you may have options. To learn about the possible defenses that can be used against your charge, read on and give our skilled Cobb County DUI lawyer.
What defenses can be used against a DUI charge in Georgia?
It is no surprise that the penalties for any DUI-related charges in Georgia are severe. However, it is important to keep in mind that a skilled criminal defense lawyer can work to make sure that you never face these consequences, or, at least, that the impact of these consequences is mitigated. Some of the most specific defenses against DUI charges that our firm may use (depending on the circumstances of your case) include the following:
- The breathalyzer used during your arrest supplied false results
- There was no possible cause for an arrest
- The arresting officer had no reasonable suspicion to perform an investigation
- The blood or breath sample was improperly obtained or assessed
- The arresting officer improperly administered your field sobriety tests
- Your constitutional rights were infringed
What are the consequences of a first-offense DUI in Georgia?
Even if it is just your first DUI offense, you can expect to face serious penalties. If you have been charged with a first-offense DUI in Georgia, you will likely face the following consequences:
- Between 10 days and 1 year in jail
- A 12-month license suspension, though you may have your license reinstated after 120 days upon completion of the DUI Alcohol or
- Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
- A potential $300-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
- Up to 40 hours of community service
- You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment
This further explains that a first-offense DUI can have serious consequences. You must recognize that you will only have 30 days from the date of your arrest to speak with a skilled Georgia DUI lawyer who can prepare an Administrative License Hearing. This is where he or she can work to protect your license from suspension. Failing to do so within 30 days will result in an immediate license suspension.
What can happen after a second-offense DUI?
In the event that you are facing a second offense DUI within five years, you can anticipate even more severe penalties. The consequences of a second-offense DUI charge in Georgia include the following:
- Between 90 days and 1 year in jail
- A 3-year license suspension
- A potential $600-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
- Up to 240 hours of community service
- Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
- You may be required to undergo a clinical evaluation and treatment
Contact Our Experienced Firm
If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.