police woman outside of car

When you’re pulled over for a traffic violation, the police officer will ask you to produce your driver’s license, vehicle registration, and proof of auto insurance. If you cannott provide proof of insurance because you don’t have any, you may assume the officer will give you a stern warning before writing the ticket for the violation and sending you on your way. However, this is far from the truth. In reality, you can face a criminal charge for driving without insurance in Georgia. The following blog explores this in further detail and why it’s in your best interest to connect with an experienced Cobb County traffic violation is critical if you’ve been found driving while uninsured.

Why Are Drivers Required to Carry Insurance?

It’s imperative to understand that in Georgia, it is state law for drivers to carry auto insurance. However, there are instances in which driver’s coverage may expire without them knowing, or they may forget to renew their policy. Whether or not it was intentional, it is the responsibility of the driver to ensure their auto coverage is in effect before operating a vehicle.

If you get into a collision without insurance coverage, you’ll find that you may be unable to afford the other driver’s damages, which can include astronomical medical bills, mechanic fees, and non-economic damages. As such, the other driver is left with no economic support. You must carry insurance so the other driver can receive relief from your insurer should your negligence causes a collision.

There is a minimum amount you are required to carry, which, in Georgia, is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per incident in bodily injury liability, and $25,000 per incident in property damage.

What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance?

If you are found driving without insurance, you’ll face a misdemeanor charge. Though this may seem like a petty offense, the consequences of this charge can be severe.

Not only will you face a minimum fine of $200 with the potential for $1,000, you can also face up to one year in jail for operating a vehicle without insurance. Additionally, you can lose your license for a minimum of 60 days and the potential for a suspension up to 90 days.

What Should I Do if I’m Facing Legal Trouble?

If you are found driving without insurance, it’s imperative to connect with an experienced attorney. Unfortunately, though it may not seem like it, having a misdemeanor on your criminal record can severely impact your life. As such, working with an attorney can help you do everything possible to achieve the best outcome for your circumstances.

When facing charges, the Miller Law Practice, LLC can help. We understand how overwhelming these times can be, which is why our team is dedicated to helping you. Connect with us today to learn more.