man with hands in handcuffs

Unfortunately, many are unaware of the intense penalties they can face when charged with a DUI, assuming it will be a slap on the wrist or a stern warning. However, these charges only increase when charged for a second time. Whether or not you’re guilty, connecting with an experienced Cobb County DUI lawyer to discuss your legal options is critical, as you may face jail time for these charges. The following blog explores what you should know about the consequences you’ll face if convicted and what to do if you’re arrested.

What Are Georgia’s DUI Laws?

In Georgia, you can face a DUI charge if you are caught driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you will face a “per se” DUI, as this is the legal limit. However, you can face a DUI charge if your BAC is lower than this limit, but if the officer determines that the alcohol in your system has impacted your ability to operate a vehicle, you will be charged.

Additionally, if you are under 21 and found with a BAC of 0.02% or higher, you will face a DUI charge, as consuming alcohol is illegal.

Does a Second DUI Mean I’ll Go to Jail?

When charged with a DUI for a second time within five years, the penalties you will face will increase from the first time. Generally, you will face between 90 days and one year in jail for this offense.

Not only will you face jail time, but your license will be suspended for three years, face up to $1,000 in fines, and up to 240 hours. Additionally, you’ll likely be ordered to serve up to 240 hours of community service and face mandatory enrollment in a DUI risk reduction program.

For drivers under 21, a second DUI charge means you’ll face up to $1,200 in fines, at least three days in jail, but the potential for up to one year and 30 days of community service.

What Should I Do if Facing a Charge?

If you are facing a second charge for a DUI, it’s essential to understand what you must do if charged. The most important thing to do is to comply with the officer’s orders. However, you do not and should not speak to the police without talking to your attorney first. Unfortunately, many charged with a DUI try to plead their innocence to the arresting officer, which can accidentally incriminate them. As such, it’s imperative to ensure you inform the office you want an attorney and then invoke your right to remain silent.

When you need legal assistance, the team at the Miller Law Practice, LLC is ready to help. We understand the steps necessary to help you through these matters. Connect with our legal team today to learn how we can guide you through these complex matters to fight for the best possible outcome.