Charged With a DUI this Halloween in Georgia? What to Know

Halloween marks one of the weekends a year that has a heightened risk for drunk driving incidents. If you have been charged with a DUI this Halloween, it is important to understand the penalties you may face. For assistance with your charges, reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney today.

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI in Georgia?

Drivers who have been charged with a first-offense DUI in Georiga can expect to face the following potential penalties:

  • Anywhere between 10 days and 1 year in jail
  • Up to 40 hours of community service
  • $300-$1,000 in fines
  • Court surcharges
  • Clinical evaluation and treatment
  • A 12-month license suspension
    • However, you may have your license reinstated after 120 days if you are able to complete the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program

What are the penalties for a second-offense DUI in Georgia?

If a driver has been charged with a second-offense DUI in Georiga, the penalties will increase, including the following:

  • Between 90 days and 1 year in jail
  • Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • Up to 240 hours of community service
  • A potential $600-$1,000 fine
  • Court surcharges
  • Subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment
  • A 3-year license suspension

What are the penalties for a third-offense DUI in Georgia?

When a driver is charged with a third-offense DUI in Georiga, they can expect to face the following penalties:

  • Between 120 days and 5 years in jail
  • Up to 240 hours of community service
  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines
  • Court surcharges
  • Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • Subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment
  • A 5-year license suspension

What are the penalties for a fourth offense DUI in Georgia?

Within five years, if a driver is charged with a fourth offense DUI, they will face the following penalties which can impact their future for years to come:

  • Up to 5 years in jail
  • The potential seizure and forfeiture of your motor vehicle
  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines
  • Court surcharges
  • Up to 500 hours of community service
  • A 10-year license suspension

If you are facing DUI charges, no matter the circumstances, you must retain the services of a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who has experience handling DWI charges. Our experienced attorney will walk you through the next steps. We are prepared to explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about how we will fight for your rights in court, give our firm a call to schedule your initial consultation with our legal team.

Contact Our Experienced Firm

At the Miller Law Practice, we support clients through a variety of legal matters. If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.