What to Know About Underage DUIs in Georgia

If you have been charged with an underage DUI in Georgia, it is important to be prepared for the potential consequences and penalties you may face. Continue reading to learn more about underage DUI charges in Georgia and how you can protect yourself with the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Reach out to our dedicated legal team today to learn more about our service and how we can assist you. Our firm understands the impact charges such as these can have on an individual’s future. We are prepared to fight for your rights in court. Get started today by picking up the phone and giving us a call.

What are the penalties for first-offense underage DUIs in Georgia?

Drivers who are under the legal drinking age and have a blood alcohol concentration of .02% or higher will likely receive a DUI as well as the following penalties:

  • A $300-$1,000 fine
  • Between 24 hours-12 months in jail
  • At least 20 hours of community service

What are the penalties for second-offense underage DUIs?

Drivers who receive a second underage DUI will be treated as repeat offenders and will face the following penalties:

  • A potential $600-$1,200 fine
  • Between 72 hours-12 months in jail
  • At least 30 days of community service

What are the penalties for third-offense underage DUIs?

Drivers will likely face a high and aggravated misdemeanor charge for a third underage DUI. These charges can result in the following penalties:

  • A potential $1,000-$5,000 fine
  • Between 15 days-12 months in jail
  • At least 30 days of community service

What are the penalties for fourth-offense underage DUIs?

If you receive a fourth-offense underage DUI, you may face life-altering consequences. Receiving a fourth-offense underage DUI within 10 years of the first offense will result in facing a felony charge which will include the following penalties:

  • A $5,000 fine
  • Between 90 days-5 years of incarceration
  • At least 60 hours of community service

Drivers who are under the drinking age will risk losing their driver’s license for anywhere between six months and five years. This time period will depend on the circumstances of their condition and if they have had more than one prior DUI conviction.

If you have been charged with an underage DUI, you will require the assistance of a skilled and dedicated criminal defense attorney who will explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. Our legal team understands that people make mistakes. We are here to advocate for you. Reach out to our experienced attorney today to schedule your initial consultation. We are here to help.

Contact Our Experienced Firm

At the Miller Law Practice, we support clients through a variety of legal matters. If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.