Charged With a DUI this Labor Day in Georgia? What to Know

If you have been charged with a DUI this past Labor Day, retain the services of an experienced and dedicated Georgia criminal defense attorney. To learn the penalties for first, second, third, and fourth offense DUIs in Georiga, continue reading.

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI in Georgia?

If you have been charged with a first-offense DUI in Georgia, you may face the following penalties as a result:

  • A 12-month license suspension, though you may have your license reinstated after 120 days upon completion of the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • Between 10 days and 1 year in jail
  • A potential $300-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 40 hours of community service
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

What are the penalties for a second-offense DUI in Georgia?

When a driver is charged with a DUI for the second time in Georgia, this will increase the consequences. For this crime, you can face:

  • A 3-year license suspension
  • Between 90 days and 1 year in jail
  • A potential $600-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 240 hours of community service
  • Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

What are the penalties for a third-offense DUI in Georgia?

The penalties for a third-offense DUI in the state of Georgia include the following:

  • A 5-year license suspension
  • Between 120 days and 5 years in jail
  • A potential $1,000-$5,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 240 hours of community service
  • Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

What are the penalties for a fourth offense DUI in Georgia?

If you are pulled over for a fourth DUI within five years, you will face consequences that may impact your future for years to come including the following:

  • A 10-year license suspension
  • Up to 5 years in jail
  • A potential $1,000-$5,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 500 hours of community service
  • You may face the potential seizure and forfeiture of your motor vehicle

If you are facing any of the above DUI charges in Georgia, it is important that you retain the services and assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney who will walk you through the next steps. Our firm is dedicated to exploring all avenues of defense for our clients. To learn more about our services and to discuss your situation, reach out to our firm today.

Contact Our Experienced Firm

At the Miller Law Practice, we support clients through a variety of legal matters. If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.