Being charged with a DUI in Georgia may mean that you are facing severe consequences including the installation of an ignition interlock device. These devices are used as an attempt to keep drunk drivers off the roads.
If you have been recently charged with a DUI and require the installation of an ignition interlock device, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Our legal team at Miller Law Practice, LLC is confident in our ability to provide for our clients. We will explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about the installation of an ignition interlock device, continue reading. Give our firm a call today to learn more about our services and how we can assist you.
What is an ignition interlock device?
An ignition interlock device connects to the ignition system of a vehicle and will require the driver to submit to a breathalyzer test to start their vehicle. The device will have a set BAC limit. If the device detects a BAC above this set limit, the vehicle will not start. The device will also require the driver to provide additional breath tests while the vehicle is in motion. The purpose of these additional tests is to avoid the driver using another person to start their vehicle. If the driver does not provide additional breath tests while the vehicle is in motion, the device will issue a warning and set off an alarm until the driver stops the vehicle. The device will also make a record of this incident. These devices will be required to be installed in every vehicle the individual owns or operates. If the individual does not own a vehicle, the device will be installed on any vehicles that they may operate.
Am I eligible for an ignition interlock device permit in Georgia?
For Georiga drivers to qualify for an ignition interlock device permit, they must meet the following criteria:
- Drivers must be 21 years or older
- Drivers must not have any current license suspensions
- Drivers must not have been convicted of a DUI within the last 5 years
- Drivers must have a valid Georgia driver’s license
How can I get an IID permit?
Before the Department of Driver Services can issue an ignition interlock permit, you will have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicles, submit your DDS-1205 to the Department of Driver Services, apply in person at a DDS office within 30 days, and waive your right to appeal a hearing.
If you have been recently charged with a DUI in Georgia, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Give our firm a call today to schedule your initial consultation.
Contact Our Experienced Firm
At the Miller Law Practice, we support clients through a variety of legal matters. If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.