If you were charged with a commercial vehicle DUI in the state of Georgia, our legal team understands the stress you are feeling. Continue reading on, and give our skilled Cobb County DUI lawyer a call today to examine the details of your case and your options.
What is a commercial vehicle in the state of Georgia?
In Georgia, a commercial vehicle is described as, “a motor vehicle designed or used to transport passengers or property.” Vehicles are deemed commercial if they are:
- Vehicles that have “a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 or more pounds or such lesser rating as determined by federal regulation.”
- Vehicles that are “designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver.”
- Vehicles that transport “hazardous materials.”
Commercial vehicle drivers in Georgia are held to a higher standard than standard drivers. A typical driver will be charged with a DUI with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or more, while on the other hand, a commercial driver will be charged with a DUI with a blood alcohol concentration of .04 percent or more. With that being said, it is clear that the standards are higher for commercial drivers.
What are the penalties for a commercial vehicle DUI in Georgia?
The state of Georgia takes DUI charges very seriously. A driver experiencing the effects of this charge will face a license suspension and more. The majority of the time, the first DUI is generally a misdemeanor charge. A first DUI conviction will likely result in the following:
- Probation that can last up to 12 months.
- Fines between $300-$1000.
- A person convicted of DUI could face a minimum of 24 hours to 12 months in prison. A common punishment is between 1-10 days in jail.
- A total of 40 hours of community service could be needed. If the offender was under the age of 21 and had a BAC under .08 then he or she could be required to complete 20 hours of community service.
- Participation in, and completion of, a DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program that must be completed within 120 days after a conviction or 90 days after getting out of jail.
- A clinical evaluation and treatment, if recommended.
You will want to recognize that the consequences of DUI charges in Georgia will grow as convictions accumulate. A second DUI conviction is still a misdemeanor but the penalties are more serious. A third conviction is a high or aggravated misdemeanor and a fourth DUI conviction is considered a felony. If you were charged with a commercial vehicle DUI in Georgia, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today. Our legal team recognizes that your future is at stake. We are just one call away.