Georgia takes drugged driving, also known as DUI-Drugs charges very seriously. That is why if you have been charged, you will need to retain the services of an experienced Cobb County criminal defense lawyer today. Our legal team is equipped with the knowledge and experience required to ensure that you and your future are prioritized and protected.
What are the consequences of a drugged driving charge?
In the state of Georgia, an individual can be charged with drugged driving (also referred to as a DUI-Drugs charge) if you’re under the influence of any kind of drug. Under Georgia law, you are considered “under the influence” if you are impaired to the extent that it is “less safe” for you to drive.
In the event that a DUI-Drugs-Less-Safe charge occurs, the state doesn’t have to verify that you had a certain level of drugs in your system. So prosecution is likely even if you declined the state-administered chemical test. Instead of test results, the state can establish its case with evidence of impairment, such as:
- admissions of drug use
- personal appearance indicating drug use, like bloodshot eyes and
- dilated or constricted pupils
- slurred or frantic speech
- erratic driving
- poor field sobriety test performance, and
- the presence of drugs in your vehicle.
It is important to recognize that it is not just illegal drugs that can lead to a drugged driving charge. Even legally prescribed controlled substances and even over-the-counter medications can be the cause of a DUI-Drugs charge. Furthermore, Georgia law emphasizes that is lawfully entitled to use a drug is not a defense to a DUI-Drugs charge.
What are the consequences of a DUI-Drugs charge in Georgia?
In most cases, a DUI-Drugs charge is classified as a misdemeanor, but it is likely that further factors could upgrade it to a felony DUI. The criminal penalties for drugged driving are the same as those for alcohol-based DUI charges. For a first offense, the driver is typically looking at 10 days to 12 months in jail, $300 to $1,000 in fines, and a 12-month license suspension. Second offenders generally face 90 days to 12 months in jail, $600 to $1,000 in fines, and a three-year license suspension. A third offense commonly carries 120 days to 12 months in jail, $1,000 to $5,000 in fines, and permanent license revocation.
If you were charged with a drugged driving conviction, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today. An experienced Cobb County criminal defense lawyer can help you through whatever you are going through.
Contact Our Experienced Firm
Miller Law Practice supports clients through a variety of legal matters. If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.