You may be wondering if you will lose your license after being charged with a DUI in Georgia. The answer depends on your circumstances. Continue reading to learn more and speak with a skilled Cobb County DUI lawyer.

Will my license get taken away after a first-offense DUI in Georgia?

The state of Georgia takes DUI offenses very seriously. If you have been charged with a first-offense DUI in Georgia, you can expect to face severe consequences, even though it is your first charge. In most cases, you will face a 12-month license suspension, however, it is important to recognize that you may have your license reinstated after 120 days upon completion of the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program. You will also likely encounter the following penalties:

  • Between 10 days and 1 year in jail
  • A potential $300-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 40 hours of community service
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

What are the consequences of a second-offense DUI in Georgia?

In the event that a driver is charged with a DUI for the second time in Georgia, they will face a three-year license suspension. Additionally, there are a number of other penalties an individual may face for this crime, including:

  • Between 90 days and 1 year in jail
  • A potential $600-$1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 240 hours of community service
  • Enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • You may be subjected to clinical evaluation and treatment

Will I lose my license get after a third-offense DUI in Georgia?

If you are have been charged for a fourth DUI within five years in Georgia, you will face consequences that may impact your future for years to come including up to a 10-year license suspension. Losing your driving privileges for this long can severely impact your life. You may also encounter the following:

  • Up to 5 years in jail
  • A potential $1,000-$5,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 500 hours of community service
  • You may face the potential seizure and forfeiture of your motor vehicle

If you have been charged with a DUI in Georgia, no matter how many offenses, it is critical that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who will help you navigate through the next steps. Our firm is committed to investigating all routes of defense for our clients. If you would like to learn more about our services and to discuss your case in-depth, reach out to our Cobb County criminal defense lawyer today.

Contact Our Experienced Firm

At the Miller Law Practice, we support clients through a variety of legal matters. If you are facing criminal charges, or have been injured due to the negligence of another party, our firm will fight for you. Contact Miller Law Practice today.